

PROCLAMATION

EO 21-08

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS COME – GREETINGS:

EXECUTIVE ORDER TO ESTABLISH THE ARKANSAS AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN ACT OF 2021 STEERING COMMITTEE

- WHEREAS: President Joe Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 into law on March 11, 2021; and
- WHEREAS: The American Rescue Plan Act provides \$1.9 trillion dollars to offset the impact of COVID-19 on state and local governments, individuals, businesses, and educational institutions; and
- WHEREAS: The American Rescue Plan Act includes provisions that allow for disbursements to entities and individuals through various programs operated by state agencies; and
- WHEREAS: It is in the best interest of the state and its citizens to identify best practices and procedures for ensuring that the State of Arkansas, its citizens, and businesses realize the maximum relief and benefits available under the American Rescue Plan Act;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, ASA HUTCHINSON, acting under the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Arkansas, do hereby order the following:

- (1) There is hereby created the Arkansas American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 Steering Committee (Arkansas ARP Steering Committee), which shall serve as an investigative and advisory body of the Governor.
- (2) The steering committee shall be composed of members appointed by the Governor and shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration, Larry Walther, shall serve as chairman of the committee. The committee shall be composed of the following individuals, or his or her designee:
 - a) Larry Walther, Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration;
 - b) Johnny Key, Secretary of the Department of Education;
 - c) Cindy Gillespie, Secretary of the Department of Human Services;
 - d) Mike Preston, Secretary of the Department of Commerce;
 - e) Wes Ward, Secretary of the Department of Agriculture;
 - f) Jami Cook, Secretary of the Department of Public Safety;
 - g) Stacy Hurst, Secretary of the Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism;
 - h) Daryl Bassett, Secretary of the Department of Labor and Licensing;
 - i) Dr. José Romero, Secretary of the Department of Health;
 - j) Senator Bill Sample;
 - k) Senator Keith Ingram;
 - l) Senator Ronald Caldwell;
 - m) Representative Kenneth Ferguson;
 - n) Representative Jeffrey Wardlaw;
 - o) Representative Frances Cavenaugh;

(3) The members of the steering committee shall have the following duties:

a) Study and analyze the relief available to the State of Arkansas, its citizens, and businesses under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021;

- b) Identify and prioritize the needs of the State of Arkansas, its citizens, and business for the application of available relief;
- c) Identify the most efficient practices and procedures to obtain and apply available relief; and
- d) Make recommendations to the Governor on best uses of the American Rescue Plan Act funding;
- (4) Utilize advisory committees or working groups as needed within the private sector to assist in the development of investment plans for the American Rescue Plan funds.
- (5) Upon request, the Department of Finance and Administration may provide staff and other personnel to support the work of the steering committee.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Arkansas to be affixed the 11th day of May, in the year of our Lord 2021.

Asa Hutchinson, Governor



Attest:

John Thurston, Secretary of State