

STATE OF ARKANSAS Department of Finance and Administration

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Clarence Collins Telephone: 501/682-1100 Fax: 501/682-7691

April 13, 2009

Income Tax Relief for Taxpayers Affected By April 9, 2009 Storms

LITTLE ROCK, AR— The Department of Finance and Administration announced today that Governor Mike Beebe declared five (5) counties state disaster areas due to damages caused by severe storms and tornadoes that occurred on April 9, 2009. The five (5) counties are Ashley, Howard, Miller, Polk and Sevier. Taxpayers in these counties are eligible for special income tax relief under Arkansas law.

The deadline for filing income tax returns and paying any tax due is extended until August 15, 2009 for taxpayers affected by the April 9, 2009 storms and tornadoes and who reside or have a business in the affected counties. In addition, the Department will waive the failure to file, failure to pay and interest charges for businesses unable to make withholding deposits and/or individuals or businesses unable to make estimate tax payments due between April 9, 2009 and May 27, 2009 because of the recent storms and tornadoes.

To claim the special extension on a return, **please write "Disaster Storms" on the front of the mailing envelope and on the top left corner of return**. This helps ensure correct processing of your return. If you receive a notice of penalties and interest, call (501) 682-1100 to request relief. For more information, access our DFA website at: http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa/dfa_taxes.html.